Board of Elections

Defiance County, Ohio

Welcome to the Board of Elections

The Defiance County Board of Elections handles all aspects of elections administration for local, state, and federal elections throughout Defiance County. Its duties include processing and maintaining voter registrations, reviewing and certifying petitions, equipping polling locations, and certifying county election results. The office is run by a bipartisan team led by the Director, Tonya Wichman (R), and Deputy Director, Kimberly Smith (D). The bipartisan, four member Board provides oversight for the office.

Board Members

  • Charles Gray (D), Chairman
  • Steven Sondergaard (R), Member
  • Penny Bakle (D), Member
  • Ian Weber (R), Member

Board Meetings

The Board holds open meetings to conduct the regular business of the Board at 1300 E. 2nd St., Conference Room 1B, Defiance, OH 43512. Notices for all Board meetings are posted publicly at the Board office and on the homepage.

Meeting Schedule

Location & Hours

  • Defiance County East
  • 1300 E. Second St., Suite 103
  • Defiance, Ohio 43512
  • Monday-Friday 8:30AM to 4:30PM